Inspire – February 3, 2020 – Mononymous

Anyone come to mind with one name?

Mononymous. Known by one name. Last name unnecessary.

Cher, Reba, Prince, Oprah, Madonna, Beyonce, Ellen, Sting, Halsey, Bono, Twiggy, Liberace, Seal, Rihanna, Barney, Adele, Lorde, Ringo, Mickey, Mackelmore, Jewel and Pink.

Jesus.

Although no other name is needed to identify Jesus – He is known by many. The Christ, Prince of Peace, King of kings, Lord of lords, The Good Shepherd, Bread of Life, The Living Water, The Way, The Truth, the Life, Son of God, Messiah, Savior, Emmanuel, Light of the World, Rabboni, Lamb of God, Logos (The Word), etc.

He is. He was. He will be. Always. Forever. Jesus.

His Name is above all other names. His Name brings peace. His Name gives life. His Name spreads joy. His Name heals. His Name soothes the distraught. His Name offers hope. The name of Jesus speaks love into the most unlovable. His Name. The Name. Jesus.

Phil and I met with friends last week to sing hymns and praise songs. Songs about Jesus. None of us know the day or time we will meet Jesus face-to-face but we know that some day we will. Barring a divine healing – one of our friends is close to meeting Jesus. At times I envy him knowing he is going to be with his Savior – that he will be healed and whole – he will have no more sorrow – no more suffering – no more pain. But his loved ones come to mind and I picture the huge hole his home going will leave in their hearts. The only prayer I can utter is, “Jesus. Jesus. Jesus.” I have nothing else. Only His name. Only Jesus.

And there is salvation in no one else; for there is no other name under heaven that has been given among men by which we must be saved.” Acts 4:12

My friends, Jesus loves you and is waiting for you to call on His Name. For salvation. For comfort. For healing. For peace. For eternal life. For help. For everything. In the simplest of words, “Jesus loves me this I know. For the Bible tells me so.” I believe it and I believe in Him.

May the Name of Jesus be your Name above all names.

Cheering you on!

Leave a comment