Inspire – September 11. 2023 – Remember

Do you remember where you were on 9/11/01?

l do.

Phil and I were with two of of employees at our office in Laotto – glued to the television. Watching in disbelief as the twin towers and the Pentagon were attacked. I’ll always remember. It was a devastating day with thousands of lives forever changed. 

There are some occasions that we will always remember. Every detail. Every word. Every smell. Everything. 

September 4, 2023 will be a day I will always remember.

Phil, Paula Kimmel Fenn and I went to visit my childhood friend Donna Beaver Arthur. She was at St Mary Healthcare Center in Lafayette, Indiana. 

I’ll remember her smile, laughter and hugs that day. I’ll remember her slowly becoming less verbal after the morphine kicked in. I’ll remember her last words to me, “My babies. My babies”.  I believe she wanted me to know she was concerned about her daughters Megan and Rachel, their husbands, her three grandsons and her first granddaughter to be born in October.

I’ll remember the many baseball games with the neighborhood boys on the empty lot next to my house on Nolen Drive. I’ll remember playing army in the ditch and on the hill next to Becky Mersereau’s house. And the many days and nights I spent at her house across the street from mine, hanging out in her awesome tree house and the hours we talked, laughed and cried together. I’ll remember the times we cut and “frosted” each other’s hair. I’ll remember when her mom was extremely angry with me because I gave Donna a pixie cut. But, hey, she asked me to do it. I’ll remember the summers we spent basking in the sun at the Westlake Beach Club and prepping for the dances on Sunday and Wednesday nights. I’ll remember the countless hours talking about the boys we liked. I’ll remember my first kiss in the 9th grade that happened at her house. I didn’t like it and told Donna I never wanted to kiss another boy again. Obviously, that changed. 

I’ll remember the countless slumber parties at Danielle Terry’s, Paula Kimmel Fenn’s and Cindy Masterson Soleri’s houses. I’ll remember going to football and basketball games and sitting together in the Giant Dolls cheer section. I’ll remember seeing Three Dog Night, Chicago and the Doobie Brothers with her at the Coliseum at the State Fairgrounds. We sang every song at the top of our lungs. I’ll remember our graduation day from Ben Davis High School. I’ll remember her visits to see me at Ball State. I’ll remember being bridesmaids in Cindi Bright Pokrana’s wedding and our many class reunions. I’ll remember not seeing each one another for months and when we would get together our hair cuts and color would be the same – and we hadn’t talked about it.  Phil is still blown away by how many times that happened through the years.  

I’ll always remember the day when Donna told me she had cancer. Honestly, I thought she would beat it. She had to. I mean I prayed for her healing and she has a new granddaughter coming in October. 

But I also remember that I am not God. I don’t understand His ways but I trust Him. I trust Him because He loves Donna even more than I do. I trust that she is with Him and is no longer suffering. No more pain. No more procedures. No more morphine. No more chemo. No more radiation. Donna is free and enjoying being with her Savior.  

Yes, I’ll always remember September 4, 2023 and my precious friend Donna.  

May we always remember that Jesus died for me and you. May we remember how much He cares. May you rest in His sweet care, my precious Donna. I believe I see you again someday in His holy presence. I will always remember you.  

Cheering you on!

Leave a comment