Inspire -February 13, 2023 – Blimp

What comes to your mind when you see a blimp?

While driving to Target and Michaels on Friday, I missed my turn and went further than intended. My mind has been foggy and numb since my sister’s passing on Wednesday. Simple decisions and tasks have become more difficult.

Realizing I had driven too far, I decided to go on a little further to the Walmart near I-10. At the stoplight, the Goodyear Blimp came into clear view. I quickly took a picture while waiting for the left turn light to turn green. Tears spilled down my cheeks and I smiled and thanked God.

Why? Well, it goes back to 1963 in Indianapolis. I was in third grade and my sister Karen was in first at Assumption Catholic School on Blaine Avenue. We walked to and from school which was a little over a mile from our Grandma Strader’s house on Holly Avenue.

On this particular day, we were headed home to Grandma’s when I noticed a large grey thing in the sky above us. Having never seen a blimp, and with all of the talk of war, I thought it was a bomb. My nine-year-old mind could only focus on getting my little sister safely home before the “bomb” dropped on our area of town. Grabbing her hand, while trying not to cry, I said, “Run!” We ran to Grandma’s and found her in the kitchen. Sobbing while telling her how we ran from the bomb; she went outside and looked up. There it was in the sky just a little further down the White River from the house. She began to laugh and told us it was the Goodyear blimp not a bomb. It had been circling the area that afternoon as an advertising promotion.

Well, back to this past Friday. I was not able to attend my sister’s final viewing and was crying thinking of her while driving to Target and missed my turn. I don’t want to spiritualize the blimp but I took it as a gift from God reminding me that Karen was safely “home” and He was taking care of her.

May God give you a “blimp” when your heart is broken and you need encouragement. He is so good.

Cheering you on!

One thought on “Inspire -February 13, 2023 – Blimp

  1. Oh dear friend, I am crying as I type this. God is so good and surely it was His hand causing you to see this. Such a reminder of your loving protection of your little sister. Now she is with Him safely in His arms instead of yours. Thank you, Jesus!! I love you and pray for you all.

    Like

Leave a comment