Inspire – March 13 – Important

What is the most important thing for you today?

March Madness begins this week!  It is my favorite time of the year as you probably already know.  Purdue won the B1G tourney on Sunday and is the #1 seed in the NCAA east bracket. My basketball-loving heart is so happy.  

Typically, I will be watching two to three games at the same time using my phone, laptop and television. I will be sporting my Purdue t-shirts and screaming for the Boilermakers. I will be keeping my bracket up-to-date. NCAA basketball is awfully dang fun but it is not the most important thing in my life today, tomorrow, this week, this year. When it comes to the end of the day, the only thing that matters is my relationship with Jesus and how I love/treat the people He loves – which by the way is everyone.

One of my beautiful daughters-in-law (a Purdue graduate) doesn’t follow basketball or any sport for that matter. It just is not in her wheelhouse. My husband watches games with me but he is not the one who keeps abreast of match ups and game times. It is hard for me to comprehend especially since they both hail from Indiana – the greatest basketball state (according to me).  It’s probably a good thing he’s not a maniac like me. Someone has to remain calm.  

I love that God has wired me the way I am with a passion for March Madness. I also love that He’s given me a boldness to be open about my faith in Him. I want to cheer for Him and to be grateful for everything that has happened in my life – the good as well as the bad.  He has taught me much about His faithfulness, provision, mercy, protection, grace and redemption through it all.  

Jesus replied: “’Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.” Matthew 22:37

So, dear friends, enjoy these next few weeks of watching powerhouses vs underdogs. Cheer on your favorite team and may the most important thing in your life be your relationship with our God. He is the champion and wins no matter who is playing.

Cheering you on!

Leave a comment