Inspire – March 20, 2023 – Disappointment

Hey, friend! How do you handle disappointment?

March Madness.  Exhilaration and disappointment. Purdue’s run to the Final Four is over. The Boilermakers were knocked out by 16th seed Fairleigh Dickinson University.  Stunned, sad, maybe a little mad and definitely disappointed.

 

A mutual Purdue fan friend texted today to ask how I was doing after the loss. I told her how I felt. She and her husband did a “basketball free” Saturday after Friday’s loss.  That was a smart move. I should have done the same but I couldn’t not watch the other games.   

I’ve noticed: 
*Some people get quiet when disappointed.
*Some people get angry.
*Some people mope.
*Some people pout.
*Some people do something productive like my friends did.

Admittedly, I do not like being around the middle three types people. Angry, mopers, pouters.  I prefer those who are quiet or busy being productive.  

There are more serious life changing events that bring disappointment. Death, serious illness, divorce, bankruptcy, addictions, broken relationships to name a few. I’m learning to focus on the blessings God has poured on me and to thank Him for everything especially when I am disappointed.  I choose to trust God no matter what. When I reach out to someone else who is hurting, I receive a blessing. Oh, I am far from being perfect dealing with disappointment and I’ve blown it many times.  

So, how do you handle disappointment?   

May we run to God in our disappointments. May we not be grumpy or mean. May we trust Him when our expectations do not become reality.  May we extend grace to those who disappoint us as we pray they show us grace when we disappoint them.  

Now, let’s go Michigan State – the only B1G team left in the tourney! Sorry little bro, Chris. I can’t cheer yet for your University of Tennessee Volunteers!

Cheering you on!

Leave a comment